The Musicians of the Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestra

Orchestra Personnel

 Resident Conductor Francisco Noya

Resident Conductor Francisco Noya

FRANCISCO NOYA has served as Resident Conductor of the Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestra for 18 seasons. As Resident Conductor, he presents pre-concert talks and serves as “cover” conductor for all Classical Series concerts. Mr. Noya conducts the education concerts, Pops concerts and Summer Pops concerts, including the 4th of July Concert at India Point Park. He also conducted the Classical concert, Philharmonic on Fire!, when the orchestra performed at WaterFire. He will conduct the Philharmonic's performance of Messiah with the Providence Singers this December. Mr. Noya and Music Director Larry Rachleff represent the Philharmonic artistically and educationally throughout the Rhode Island community. He has also accompanied Philharmonic fan tours to Europe, adding his musical expertise to the experience.
Francisco began his career in the United States in 1979, earning degrees in composition and conducting from Boston University. Since that time he has served as guest conductor with the Baltimore, San Antonio and Omaha Symphony Orchestras, among others. He was Music Director of the Empire State Youth Orchestra in Albany, New York for ten seasons, leading the group on two European tours as well as conducting them in concerts at both Carnegie Hall in New York City and in Ozawa Hall at Tanglewood.
Francisco is a prominent figure in the Boston and New England music scene. He served as Music Director of the Longwood Symphony Orchestra in Boston for 12 seasons and conducted acclaimed performances of both Bellini’s Norma and Verdi’s Aida with Symphony by the Sea and the Bel Canto opera company. He currently serves as a member of the Conducting Faculty of the Berklee College of Music in Boston. In the fall of 2008 he began his tenure as the Music Director of the Berklee Contemporary Symphony Orchestra.
A native of Venezuela, Francisco served as Assistant Conductor of the Caracas Philharmonic and Assistant to the Music Director of the Teatro Teresa Carreño, one of the most prestigious theaters in Latin America. He has appeared as guest conductor with orchestras in Brazil, Venezuela, Austria, the Czech Republic, Spain and Russia. He appeared as guest conductor with the Academia Stefano Tempia in Torino, Italy, where he conducted a performance of the Mozart Requiem as part of the 250th anniversary celebrations of the birth of Mozart.
Francisco Noya frequently travels to Venezuela where he holds master classes for young conductors of the famed El Sistema, the world-renowned music-education program of that country. In the summer of 2012 he conducted the Orquesta Académica del Teatro Colón in a critically acclaimed six-city tour that culminated with a sold out performance at the world-famous Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Francisco Noya resides in Providence and can frequently be spotted on the tennis courts at Roger Williams Park.

Musicians of the Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestra

Want to learn more about our musicians? Please click on the musician's name to read some Q&A's or gain access to their personal website!

Violin I

Charles Dimmick, Concertmaster and Heidi & Chester Kirk Chair
Katherine Winterstein
Sasha Callahan
Sophia Herman
Etsuko Ishizuka
Barbara Lefkowitz
Mina Lavcheva
Omar Guey
Noemi Miloradovic
Allyson Michal
Alexey Shabalin
Zoya Tsvetkova
Zoia Bologovsky

Violin II

Amy Rawstron Watson, Principal
Lois Finkel, Assistant Principal
Antoaneta  Angulova 
Tera Gorsett 
Anna Korsunsky
Natalie Favaloro
Laura Gulley
Ella Leone
Yeolim Nam
Rose Drucker


Abigail Cross, Principal
Susan Culpo, Assistant Principal
Noriko Herndon
Christine Orio
Katrina Smith
Anya Shemetyeva
Willine Thoe
Harold Lieberman


Aristides Rivas, Principal
Melanie Dyball, Assistant Principal
Jan Pfeiffer-Rios
Jing Li
Loewi Lin
Rebecca Thornblade
Steve Laven
Aron Zelkowicz


Barry Boettger, Principal
Robert Caplin, Assistant Principal
Eliot Porter
Anthony D’Amico
Joseph Higgins
Nancy Kidd


Susan Thomas, Principal and Marie J. Langlois Chair
Kathleen Boyd


Rachel Braude


Cheryl Bishkoff, Principal
Denise Plaza-Martin

English Horn

Jane Murray


Ian Greitzer, Principal
Aline Benoit

Bass Clarinet

Tom Parchman


Ron Haroutunian, Principal
Brooke Allen

Contra Bassoon

Margaret Phillips


Kevin Owen, Principal
Lee Wadenpfuhl
Whitacre Hill
Elizabeth Gates


Joseph Foley, Principal 
Gene Crisafulli
Mary-Lynne Bohn


Gregory Spiridopoulos, Principal
Alexei Doohovskoy

Bass Trombone

Gabriel Langfur


Greg Fritze, Principal


Craig McNutt, Principal


Robert McEwan, Principal and Mr. & Mrs. George M. Sage Chair


Hyunjung Choi, Principal

Personnel Manager
Gene Crisafulli

Jean Gress

Recording Engineer
Pierre A. Paquin, Sound Dynamics Associates

*Leave of absence